Heaviside

You know, I’m pissed. I don’t know if i’m mad at myself, this company, or my coworkers. I moved to Denver four months ago, within that four months I have had four jobs. One of them I’ve kept the entire time, two of which I have found myself helplessly agitated with. Here I am again, the me I don’t like quite as much. The me that although I believe I am a hard worker; I give up when things aren’t quite going my way. This is a difficult thing for me to admit, no one ever wants to accept their faults. It’s a bummer, truly, to feel like you’re a disposable so-so worker. Which I am not, I give at least 89% into everything I do.

About a month ago, I decided to try and work in coffee. I have always wanted to be a barista, it’s a temporary dream. But let me tell you what, this is difficult. I work at a coffee shop that is voted 1st in the city, (busy). I feel as if my employment fell through the cracks of their usually well-oiled machine. No one else ever, and I mean ever skips a beat. I stumbled my way into this position with little food service experience and pure customer service. Every day has been a mess of sharpie ink and stress. I have never worked in an environment where I felt as if I was in the way. If there is one thing i’m good at it, it’s working. I hate this situation because I can’t seem to fit into the groove with everyone else. It is discouraging. Although my training was never completed, I don’t believe that that was an accident anyway. I’m frustrated, to say the least.

Leave a Reply

